Tower Of Power – Soul Side Of Town


In stock


Tower of Power – the most dynamic and distinctive band of survivors in Soul Music – is roaring into its unprecedented 50th anniversary with a dynamic album of all new material. A labor of love, definitively titled Soul Side of Town, this package is charged with 14 filler-free songs. As always, the songs on Tower of Power’s Soul Side of Town were primarily composed by the hit-making team of founding members Emilio Castillo and Stephen “Doc” Kupka who also hold down the world famous 5-man Tower of Power Horns. For the special occasion of Tower of Power’s 50th anniversary, leader Emilio Castillo brought in a most-astute choice in co-producer, Joe Vannelli in addition to mastering engineer Bernie Grundman. Along with the legendary rhythm section drums and bass lock of David Garibaldi and Francis Rocco Prestia, respectively, T.O.P. consists of guitarist Jerry Cortez, Hammond B3 organist/keyboardist Roger Smith, 1st tenor saxophonist Tom Politzer, and trumpeters Adolfo Acosta and Sal Cracchiolo. Soul Side of Town is also blessed with not one but two lead singers: outgoing Ray Greene and incoming Marcus Scott (boldly introduced on several selections, including “Hangin’ With My Baby”). The 10-piece Tower of Power band is prepared to throw down with a celebratory tour that will include sweet spots around the globe.


Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. East Bay! All Day!
02. Hangin' With My Baby
03. Do You Like That ? Listen
04. On The Soul Side Of Town
05. Do It With Soul
06. Love Must Be Patient And Kind Listen
07. Butter Fried
08. Selah
09. Let It Go Listen
10. Stop
11. When Love Takes Control Listen
12. After Hours
13. Can't Stop Thinking About You Listen
14. East Bay! Oakland Style! Listen

Additional information

input date 31st May 2018

Tower Of Power




release type

Categories: , , ,