This Is Lowrider Soul 1962-1970 – Various Artists – BACK IN STOCK NOW – AND IF YOU MISSED IT AS ESSENTIAL AS VOL. 2 !!


In stock


The Mexican, Central and South American immigrants who settled around east Los Angeles have long had an affinity for soul love ballads (aka slow jams). In recent times the scene they and their descendants initiated has intensified and spread to soul fans and collectors around the world, especially those already sympathetic to the music and intrigued by titles that were finding favour among the hip lowrider set.

The lowrider tag comes from the love of classic US automobiles which members of the scene customise to cruise the city streets. Sean Hampsey – DJ, promoter and owner of the UK’s Diggin’ Deep soul label – has teamed up with lowrider authority Ruben Molina to create Kent’s tribute to this style of music. In addition to writing The Old Barrio Guide To Lowrider Music, Ruben works with colleagues Arlene and Josh in the Southern Soul Spinners DJ team around their Southern California heartland. The SSS have also contributed titles and spirit to this compilation.

Spanning the years 1962 to 1970, the music here moves from the doo wop sound of the Vows to sweet soul harmony ballads such as the Four Tees’ ‘One More Chance’. Lowrider classics are provided by the Whispers, Barbara Mason, the Ambassadors, Brenton Wood and Lee Williams & the Cymbals, most of which are already quite well known in Europe. Brenton Wood in particular has an amazing knack of producing just the right type of music for the lowrider scene.

More esoteric picks are provided by the Endeavors, Aesop’s Fables, Jimmy Conwell and the Interpreters. We suggested some previously unreleased masters to the selectors, who were knocked out to include Melvin Hicks’ ‘I’m Just Passing Time’ and the Lovers’ Bay Area-recorded ‘When You’re Poor’; their inclusion here has caused a buzz on both sides of the Atlantic.

Other highlights are brilliant but not widely known titles by William Bell (backed by the Astors), the Lovelles, Jeff Dale and the Attractions. The Charmels, Webs and Reuben Bell tracks have become hot items among the European collecting fraternity in recent years, with the rapidly rising price tags that go with that. All in all, this release is destined to be appreciated by lovers of all types of black music, particularly those with an ear for a beautiful soul ballad.



Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. Take A Step - Aesop's Fables Listen
02. Why'd You Put Me On - Bobbi Row & The Englishmen Listen
03. I Wanna Chance - The Vows Listen
04. Where Were You - Brenton Wood Listen
05. Second Hand Happiness - Jimmy Conwell Listen
06. Til You Come Back To Me - Lee Williams & The Cymbals Listen
07. Oh, How It Hurts - Barbara Mason Listen
08. I Really Love You - The Ambassadors Listen
09. As I Sit Here - The Whispers Listen
10. One More Chance - The Four Tees Listen
11. No Doubt About It - The Esquires Listen
12. It's Not That Easy - Reuben Bell with The Casanovas Listen
13. It's So Hard To Break A Habit - The Webs Listen
14. Pretending Dear - The Lovelles Listen
15. Find Me - The Attractions Listen
16. Shattered Dreams - The Endeavors Listen
17. Be Kind To Love - The Interpreters Listen
18. When You're Poor - The Lovers (Previously Unreleased) Listen
19. Never Gonna Let Him Know - Debbie Taylor & The 4 Hesitations Listen
20. As Long As I've Got You - The Charmels Listen
21. Don't Forget About Me Baby - Jeff Dale Listen
22. I'm A Lonely Man - Bobby Burn Listen
23. Crying All By Myself - William Bell Listen
24. I'm Just Passing Time - Melvin Hicks & The Versatiles (Previously Unreleased) Listen

Additional information

input date 28th November 2021

This Is Lowrider Soul 1962-1970




release type

Categories: , ,