These Memories – Rare Soul Gems – Various Artists – LP Vinyl – IN STOCK NOW!!


In stock


Memories of the rare soul scene are manifold but this timeless collection goes right to the heart and soul of the scene and is perhaps best summed up by the emotive title track “These Memories” by Almeta Lattimore.

You really don’t need any other reason to buy this album, but how about Corey Blake’s £1,000+ collector’s-piece “How Can I Go On Without You”, which has evaded compilation for over twenty years. Equally rare is Billy Harner’s “I Got It From Heaven”, recorded and produced in 1976 by ‘Sound Gems’ label boss Frank Fioravanti. It was discovered, soon after release, by Richard Searling and covered-up as Bobby Hutton for exclusive plays on his Saturday/Sunday DJ sets at Wigan Casino. ‘Sound Gems’ also provides us with another dance floor anthem: “You’re My Main Squeeze” by Crystal Motion.

Side One ends with another Richard Searling cover-up courtesy of Motown’s country & western-tinged “Can’t Stop A Man In Love” by Reuben Howell (aka Sandy Linzer). Richard selected this very track to end his last ever All-Nighter DJ set at the Kings Hall, Stoke-on-Trent, Sunday 22nd September 2019. What a record!

Side Two is no slouch either, kicking off with our title track, followed by the first ever independent release of Daybreak’s in-demand “I Need Love”. Eddie Owen (aka Eddie Billups) delivers his 1977 reinvention of the anthemic “Shake Off That Dream” while Tom Moulton works his magic on Love Committee’s “Tired Of Being Your Fool”. We end with our second visit to Motown for the wonderful – unreleased – “My Baby Moves Me” by Brenda Holloway.


Track Listing


No. Track Preview
01. Corey Blake - How Can I Go On Without You Listen
02. Freddie Terrell & The Blue Rhythm Band - You Had It Made Listen
03. Barrett Strong - Man Up In The Sky Listen
04. Billy Harner - I Got It From Heaven Listen
05. Sydney Joe Qualls - I Don't Do This (To Every Girl I Meet) Listen
06. Crystal Motion - You're My Main Squeeze (Part 1) Listen
07. Reuben Howell - Can't Stop A Man In Love Listen


No. Track Preview
01. Almeta Lattimore - These Memories Listen
02. Daybreak - I Need Love Listen
03. Eddie Owen - Shake Off That Dream Listen
04. Love Committee - Tired Of Being Your Fool Listen
05. Sonya Spence - Let Love Flow On Listen
06. Brenda Holloway - My Baby Moves Me Listen

Additional information

input date 17th January 2022

These Memories – Rare Soul Gems




release type

Categories: ,