The Harlem Gospel Travelers – Look Up! – LP Vinyl (Powder Blue) – LIMITED EDITION – IN STOCK NOW !!


In stock


Things are looking up for The Harlem Gospel Travelers, who return here with a new album, a new lineup, and a new lease on life. Produced by Eli Paperboy Reed, Look Up! marks the group’s first full-length release as a trio, as well as their first collection of totally original material, and it couldn’t have come at a more vital moment. The music still draws deeply on the gospel quartet tradition of the ’50s and ’60s, of course, but there’s a distinctly modern edge to the record, an unmistakable reflection of the tumultuous past few years of pandemic anxiety, political chaos, and social unrest. The songs are bold and resilient, facing down doubt and despair with faith and perseverance, and the performances are explosive and ecstatic, fueled by dazzling vocal arrangements punctuated with gritty bursts of guitar and crunchy rhythm breaks. Born out of an non-profit music education program led by Reed, The Harlem Gospel Travelers singers Thomas Gatling, George Marage, and Dennis Bailey released their debut LP, He’s On Time, to rave reviews in 2019, with Pop Matters hailing the album’s “musical transcendence” and AllMusic praising it as “dreamlike and joyous.” The record charted on Billboard, earned the Travelers high profile fans like Elton John (who invited them to appear on his Rocket Hour radio show on Apple Music), and landed them festival slots everywhere from Pilgrimage to Telluride Jazz.


Track Listing


No. Track Preview
01. Look Up! Listen
02. Hold On (Joy Is Coming) Listen
03. God's in Control
04. Help Me To Understand Listen
05. Nothing but His Love Listen
06. Fight On!


No. Track Preview
01. Hold Your Head Up
02. That's the Reason Listen
03. Let Me Tell You Listen
04. God Will Take Care of You
05. I'm Grateful

Additional information

input date 12th September 2022

The Harlem Gospel Travelers




release type

Categories: ,