The Brand New Heavies – TBNH – LP Doublepack Vinyl


In stock


Can it really be thirty years since The Brand New Heavies first sashayed into the public eye with a romantic’s heart, a hedonist’s spirit and a Superfly sensibility? A heady cocktail of Chic-style funk-pop, sunshine grooves and scorched soul balladry, the release of TBNH sees The Brand New Heavies writing a new chapter in what has been an illustrious journey whilst also marking a return to their spiritual home, Acid Jazz Records. Refined, reimagined and revisited, TBNH was recorded under the watchful eye of producer Sir Tristan Longworth, as Andrew elaborates; “as fathers of young kids, time was important, and we needed someone to crack the whip.” Adding further with a grin; “he also makes these amazing gin and tonics with chilli’s in. The pair also decided to feature various vocalists on these tracks, not only reuniting with Heavies alumni, N’Dea Davenport and Siedah Garret but collaborating with soul legends Beverley Knight and Angie Stone alongside current singer Angela Ricci and new boy on the block, label mate Laville – to present a gilt-edged collection of songs making arguably the best album of their career. Summed up by its cover artwork- shot in the suitably louche environs of ultra-hip nightspot Annabel’s – Simon explains with a smile; “It’s a bit clubby, a little bit sleazy, with a bit of luxury and a smidgen of street.”


Track Listing


No. Track Preview
01. Beautiful with Beverley Knight Listen
02. Stupid Love with Angela Ricci Listen
03. Just Believe In You with Siedah Garrett Listen


No. Track Preview
01. Getaway with N'Dea Davenport Listen
02. Heat with Honey Larochelle Listen
03. The Funk Is Back with Simon Bartholomew Listen
04. Together with Angie Stone Listen


No. Track Preview
01. These Walls with N'Dea Davenport Listen
02. It's My Destiny with Siedah Garrett Listen
03. Wired Up with N'Dea Davenport Listen


No. Track Preview
01. Dance It Out with Angela Ricci Listen
02. Little Dancer with Jack Knight
03. Dontcha Wanna with Laville Listen
04. Get On The Right Side with Angela Ricci Listen

Additional information

input date 31st August 2019

The Brand New Heavies




release type

Categories: ,