Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings – Soul Of A Woman


In stock


In the year prior to her death from pancreatic cancer in 2016, Sharon Jones toured and performed tirelessly, and was also the subject of Miss Sharon Jones!, an acclaimed documentary by Oscar-Winning director BARBARA KOPPLE. Yet somehow, the beloved and heroic soul singer found time to complete a studio album. Soul of a Woman features eleven songs which reveal that the emotion, dynamics, and drama of Jones’ voice remained at full power until her final days. The songs on Soul Of A Woman exemplify two distinct sides of the band’s sound. Side One showcases grittier, bluesier material like “Matter Of Time” and “Sail On!,” giving Sharon the room to flex her vocal prowess and creating a “liveness” that few studio albums posses. Side Two takes on a more sophisticated orchestral mood. Tracks like “When I Saw Your Face” and “These Tears (No Longer For You),” capture a soft vulnerability in Sharon’s vocals that draws you deep inside, and yet they remain nuanced with the signature toughness that never allow you to forget she’s steering the ship. The finished product is an album that captures a band and a singer at their peak.


Track Listing

No. Track Preview
01. Matter Of Time Listen
02. Sail On ! Listen
03. Just Give Me Your Time Listen
04. Come And Be A Winner Listen
05. Rumours Listen
06. Pass Me By Listen
07. Searching For A New Day Listen
08. These Tears (No Longer For You) Listen
09. When I Saw Your Face Listen
10. Girl ! (You Got To Forgive Him) Listen
11. Call On God Listen

Additional information

input date 17th October 2017

Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings




release type

Categories: , ,