Real Side Records presents Soul On The Real Side # 12 – Various Artists – CD Album – IN STOCK NOW !!


In stock


The architects of soul are back with a stunning new 20-track Summer 2021 collection and, incredibly, almost half are NEW-TO-CD!

Our show opens with the first of our new-to-CD tracks, the seldom heard “I Need Love” by East Coast disco/funk band Daybreak. The sophisticated New Jersey 45 was originally played at Wigan Casino by Richard Searling shortly after release (covered up as “Search The World” and attributed to Tyrone Davis). It has since become one of the most cherished and in-demand of all Modern Soul records.

Track 2 sees the debut reissue of an obscure Philadelphia disc, “American Girl”, by Roscoe Thomas. Our sincere thanks go to label boss Frank Fioravanti, who provided this superb Latin-tinged crossover delight plus a further 5 Sound Gems. The rarest on the label is Billy Harner’s 1976 “I Got It From Heaven” (trk. 11), another Wigan Casino exclusive for DJ Richard Searling.

A special mention must go to Gean West’s Relatives, who make a guest appearance (trk. 5) with their emotive re-invention of the 1976 release “This World Is Moving Too Fast”. During recording Gean fell into a coma and passed away before the album was released, leaving us with this breathtaking and poignant legacy.

Our thanks also go to all at Mainstream Records, who, once again, supply a handful of class Seventies sides, including Sugar Billy’s original version of “Super Duper Love” (trk. 15), popularised by Joss Stone in more recent times, plus, of course, Almeta Lattimore’s timeless classic (trk. 7).


Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. Daybreak - I Need Love Listen
02. Roscoe Thomas - American Girl Listen
03. The Words Of Wisdom - You're A Friend Of Mine (Vocal) Listen
04. Spice feat. Bunny Davis - Sweet Norma Jones Listen
05. The Relatives - This World Is Moving Too Fast (Goodbye World re-invention) (vocals Reverend Gean West) Listen
06. The Falcons - You've Got The Power Listen
07. Almeta Latimore - These Memories Listen
08. Ruby Winters - If This Is Our Last Time Listen
09. Gloria Walker - Gift Of Love Listen
10. Jimmy Norman - I Wanna Make Love To You Listen
11. Billy Harner - I Got It From Heaven Listen
12. Crystal Motion - You're My Main Squeeze (Part 1) Listen
13. Timeless Legend - I Was Born To Love You Listen
14. Leo McCarty - I Fell In Love With Love Listen
15. Sugar Billy - Super Duper Love (Part 1) Listen
16. Vivilore Jordan - Put My Loving On You Listen
17. Sarah Vaughan - I Need You More (Than Ever Now) Listen
18. McArthur - It's So Real Listen
19. Ellerine Harding - I Ain't Got Much (But Whatever I Got It's Yours Baby) Listen
20. Darryl Stewart - You Must Know Magic Listen

Additional information

input date 18th August 2021

Real Side Records presents Soul On The Real Side # 12




release type

Categories: , ,