Raul Midon with the Metropole Orkest – If You Really Want


In stock


The New York Times has called Raul Midón “a one-man band who turns a guitar into an orchestra and his voice into a chorus.” Now, with his exciting album ‘If You Really Want’, Midón’s voice and guitar ride the waves of an actual orchestra: the acclaimed Metropole Orkest.

The Grammy Award-winning Dutch ensemble has collaborated with artists from Al Jarreau and Elvis Costello to Laura Mvula and Snarky Puppy. Midón – who earned his first Grammy nomination for ‘Bad Ass and Blind’, (Artistry Music, 2017) worked hand in glove on ‘If You Really Want’ with another renowned Grammy winner and frequent Metropole Orkest collaborator: conductor-composer-arranger Vince Mendoza. He created beautifully dynamic arrangements, inspired not only by the singer-guitarist’s melodies, harmonies and rhythms but by his lyrics, too.

Alongside fresh versions of six favourites from past Midón albums, it features four previously unrecorded songs. Midón performed in National Public Radio’s popular “Tiny Desk Concert” feature, with NPR prefacing the broadcast by saying: “Raul Midón lives in a world of sound – blind since birth, Midón’s interpretation of his surroundings is borderless. He sings with the passion of the best classic soul singers, and his instrumental chops stand alongside the most accomplished jazz musicians.”


Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. Ride On A Rainbow
02. God's Dream
03. If You Really Want Listen
04. All Love Is Blind Listen
05. Sunshine (I Can Fly) Listen
06. Ocean Dreamer
07. Pick Somebody Up Listen
08. Everyone Deserves A Second Chance Listen
09. Sittin' In The Middle Listen
10. Suddenly

Additional information

input date 12th September 2018

Raul Midon




release type

Categories: , , , ,