Northern Soul’s Classiest Rarities Volume 7 – Various Artists – CD Album – IN STOCK NOW !!


In stock


This latest episode of the high-quality end of the Northern Soul world is as varied as the scene has become, featuring manic funk, Detroit grooves, doo wop-inspired ballads, neo-Motown and pure soul stompers.

Los Angeles features strongly throughout. As a taster of the pleasures to come over the next couple of years, the opening tracks by ex-Motowners Carolyn Crawford and Kim Weston, along with the Joe Buckner & Major IV number, are from Mickey Stevenson’s late 60s Los Angeles operation; and the Lovers’ acetate-only ‘She’s Supreme’ and John Wesley & the Four Tees’ stomping version of the Williams & Watson LP track ‘Love Is Such A Funny Thing’ were recorded under the aegis of the city’s great arranger Arthur Wright.

Researching the tape vaults during lockdown has proved fruitful. The first version of Claude Huey’s ‘Why Would You Blow It’ by the unknown Isaiah Smith was discovered among the Galaxy tapes, as was the Brothers Of Soul’s ‘I Need Your Love’ – any previously unheard track by this redoubtable outfit is big soul news. I had originally thought that Buck Ram’s group Two Cats & A Mouse would be 50s sounding, like most of his acts, but ‘Love In My Heart’ proved to be a classy cover of the Oracles’ 1967 rarity on OM.

From Milwaukee, the Badger State, we have two little-known 1963 recordings from the Cuca label. ‘You Don’t Care’ by the Esquires (aka Betty Moorer’s brothers’ group the Ambassadors) first appeared on “Badger A-Go-Go”, a compilation album issued on Cuca’s Night Owl subsidiary in 1968, while Harvey (Scales) & Seven Sounds’ beat ballad ‘It’s Midnight’ was finally made available as a download-only in 2020.

Jack Ashford’s influence is also strong. ‘Crazy Things’ by the unknown Joe Douglas, one of Jack’s earliest productions, was cut in Philly with a Motor City backing track. Jack’s Pied Piper set-up produced the Hesitations’ ‘Soul Kind Of Love’, the second 45 from their superlative “Soul Superman” LP, and his later work with Detroiters Lorraine Chandler and George Rountree is represented by Philly singer Ray Gant’s update of Eddie Parker’s ‘I Need A True Love’, and the Family Brick’s vocal group version of ‘I’ll Fly To Your Open Arms’, which Jack sang on his “Hotel Sheets” LP.

Other soul legends include Major Lance with ‘Girl, Come On Home’ (the original flip of ‘Since I Lost My Baby’s Love’) and the Exits’ ‘Under The Street Lamp’, which epitomised the aspirations of black street corner vocal groups. Joe Hicks’ ‘Don’t It Make You Feel Funky’ is adrenalin-driven soul, adored by the Northern Soul crowd. Rocky Gil’s ‘It’s Not The End’ and Little Nicky Soul’s ‘You Said’ are both mega-money items, but the rarest and most-desired track has to be ‘The Intruder’ by Melvin Hicks & the Versatiles, which was thought to exist only on acetate but is actually a missing number on a collectible soul label – all will be revealed.


Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. Ready Or Not Here Comes Love - Carolyn Crawford Listen
02. It Takes A Lotta Teardrops - Kim Weston Listen
03. The Intruder - Melvin Hicks & The Versatiles Listen
04. She's Supreme - The Lovers Listen
05. Why Would You Blow It - Isaiah Smith Listen
06. It's Not The End - Rocky Gil Listen
07. It's Midnight - Harvey & Seven Sounds Listen
08. You Said - Little Nicky Soul Listen
09. You Don't Care - The Esquires Listen
10. I Need Your Love - Brothers Of Soul Listen
11. I Wish I Knew - Joe Buckner & Major IV Listen
12. I'll Fly To Your Open Arms - The Family Brick Listen
13. I Need A True Love - Ray Gant & Arabian Knights Listen
14. Don't It Make You Feel Funky - Joe Hicks Listen
15. Love Is Such A Funny Thing - John Wesley & The Four Tees Listen
16. Soul Kind Of Love - The Hesitations Listen
17. Crazy Things - Joe Douglas Listen
18. Love In My Heart - Two Cats & A Mouse Listen
19. Farewell Goodbye My Love (Edit) - The Performers Listen
20. Girl, Come On Home - Major Lance Listen
21. I've Got To Come In - Jean Battle Listen
22. So Glad - The Lyrics Listen
23. The Right To Cry - The Perfections Listen
24. Under The Street Lamp - The Exits Listen

Additional information

input date 23rd February 2021

Northern Soul's Classiest Rarities Volume 7




release type

Categories: , ,