Marvin Gaye – You’re The Man – LP Double Vinyl – LIMITED EDITION – Pre-Order – In Stock 29/3/19


In stock


You’re The Man is the first-ever planned “lost” Tamla/Motown album from Marvin Gaye. Fifteen (15) of the album’s 17 tracks are on vinyl for the first time and three tracks are newly mixed by SaLaAM ReMi. The album also includes the rare long LP version of Marvin Gaye’s cancelled Christmas single from ’72, as well as an unreleased vault mix of its instrumental B-side, and new essay by Marvin’s biographer, David Ritz. The release will coincide with the 60th anniversary of Motown as a label and also Marvin Gaye’s 80th Birthday (April 2).

While the tracks have been issued on various collections and deluxe editions, this is the first time they have been placed in their proper context. In addition to context, You’re The Man was the album that was proposed to follow-up the monumental What’s Going On, and it contains all of Marvin’s solo and non-soundtrack recordings from 1972 (his next two albums in quick succession: Trouble Man and Let’s Get It On).

IN STOCK – 29/3/19 – Pre-Order your copy now for delivery as soon as they arrive.

Track Listing


No. Track Preview
01. You're The Man
02. The World Is Rated X
03. Piece Of Clay
04. Where Are We Going?


No. Track Preview
01. I'm Gonna Give You Respect
02. Try It, You'll Like It
03. You Are That Special One
04. We Can Make It Baby


No. Track Preview
01. My Last Chance
02. Symphony
03. I'd Give My Life For You
04. Woman Of The World
05. Christmas In The City (Instrumental)


No. Track Preview
01. You're The Man (Version 2)
02. I Want To Come Home For Christmas
03. I Going Home (Move)
04. Checking Out (Double Clutch)

Additional information

input date 13th March 2019

Marvin Gaye




release type