Marvin Gaye – You’re The Man – CD Album


In stock


You’re The Man is the first-ever planned “lost” Tamla/Motown album from Marvin Gaye. Fifteen (15) of the album’s 17 tracks are on vinyl for the first time and three tracks are newly mixed by SaLaAM ReMi. The album also includes the rare long LP version of Marvin Gaye’s cancelled Christmas single from ’72, as well as an unreleased vault mix of its instrumental B-side, and new essay by Marvin’s biographer, David Ritz. The release will coincide with the 60th anniversary of Motown as a label and also Marvin Gaye’s 80th Birthday (April 2).

While the tracks have been issued on various collections and deluxe editions, this is the first time they have been placed in their proper context. In addition to context, You’re The Man was the album that was proposed to follow-up the monumental What’s Going On, and it contains all of Marvin’s solo and non-soundtrack recordings from 1972 (his next two albums in quick succession: Trouble Man and Let’s Get It On).


Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. You're The Man Listen
02. The World Is Rated X Listen
03. Piece Of Clay Listen
04. Where Are We Going? Listen
05. I'm Gonna Give You Respect Listen
06. Try It, You'll Like It Listen
07. You Are That Special One Listen
08. We Can Make It Baby Listen
09. My Last Chance Listen
10. Symphony Listen
11. I'd Give My Life For You Listen
12. Woman Of The World Listen
13. Christmas In The City (Instrumental) Listen
14. You're The Man (Version 2) Listen
15. I Want To Come Home For Christmas Listen
16. I'm Going Home Listen
17. Checking Out (Double Clutch) Listen

Additional information

input date 12th April 2019

Marvin Gaye




release type

Categories: ,