Mainstrean Modern Soul 2 – 1969 – 1976 – Various Artists – Pre-Order


In stock


The Mainstream family of labels was a major source of black music through the early/mid-70s. Owner Bob Shad was primarily a jazz producer but had enough nous and appreciation of soul music to go with current trends. His in-house arrangers included veteran hit-maker Bert DeCoteaux, fellow jazzer Wade Marcus and the up-and-coming Patrick Adams. Adams production on Chapter Three’s I’ll Never Be The Same is soul with an early disco beat; Chocolate Syrup’s uptempo You’ve Got A Lot To Give is of a similar ilk. Mainstream had several great harmony vocal groups – Special Delivery, the Steptones and Eleventh Commandment all contribute excellent examples of the genre. The rarely seen or heard flip of Almeta Lattimore’s These Memories, Oh My Love sounds equally haunting and is one of several great Detroit productions co-opted onto Mainstream. Others include McArthur’s very soulful I’ll Never Trust Love Again, Charles Beverly’s The Grass Ain’t Greener and the Steptones Your Love Is Like The Rising Sun. Charles Colbert is a mystery artist whose Mainstream tape of Slow Down World debuts here. Billy Sugar Billy Garner is the BGP label hero who recorded for the Fast Track subsidiary four years after his New Day recording of I Got Some . Shad clearly dug southern soul and licensed in tracks from Lee Bates, Lenny McDaniel and Randolph Brown; he even issued a southern ballad by Count Willie & The Dukes. The jazz influence can be felt mainly from the female singers Ellerine Harding, Neah Johnson and Alice Clark – all of whom benefited from Mainstream’s jazz track record. Jeany Reynolds made an impressive big band-backed vocal debut on Mainstream some years before her disco hits as Jeannie, while veteran New York balladeer Lenny Welch offers the neglected When There’s No Such Thing As Love (It’s Over) . These twenty plus tracks maintain Mainstream’s quality 70s soul reputation. Compilation and note by Ady Croasdell.

IN STOCK – 28/7/17 – Pre-Order your copy now for delivery as soon as they arrive.

Track Listing

No. Track Preview
01. The Grass Ain't Greener - Charles Beverly
02. You Can Be Cured - Randolph Brown
03. Come Back With Your Love Pt 1 - Special Delivery
04. You've Got A Lot To Give - Chocolate Syrup
05. I'll Never Be The Same Pt 1 - Chapter Three
06. Oh My Love - Almeta Lattimore
07. I'll Never Trust Love Again - McArthur
08. When There's No Such Thing As Love (It's Over) - Lenny Welch
09. Your Love Is Slipping Away - Lee Bates
10. Please Don't Set Me Free - Jeany Reynolds
11. Never Did I Stop Loving You - Alice Clark
12. Let Her Know - Bobby Earl Williams
13. I Know Something That You Don't Know - Ellerine Harding
14. You Are The Spice Of My Life - Neah or Nia Johnson
15. I've Got To Tell You - Count Willie with LRL & The Dukes
16. I've Been Trying To Love You - Lenny McDaniel and The Last Nickle
17. Love Bug - Sugar Billy
18. You'll Do It - Calvin Arnold
19. Today Or Never - Eleventh Commandment
20. Your Love Is Like The Rising Sun - The Steptones
21. Where There's A Will (There's A Way) - Terry Huff
22. Slow Down World - Charles Colbert
23. Everyone Has Someone - Linda Perry

Additional information

input date 17th July 2017

Mainstream Modern Soul 2



release type