Jack Ashford – Just Productions Volume 2 – Various Artists


In stock


Featuring 11 previously unissued recordings, this second and final volume of Jack Ashford’s independent soul productions from 1967 to the mid-70s is an equal to the first well-received compilation.

It opens with the now revered original version of Softouch’s ‘After You Give Your All’ by the writer Sandra Richardson. Only previously issued on 2016’s 100 Club anniversary single, this is its first digital appearance. We also used an Ashford-produced track for last year’s 100 Club 45; an edit of the Magnificents’ ‘I Can Fly’ (the original incarnation of what Jack would sing as ‘I’ll Fly To Your Open Arms’ on his “Hotel Sheet” album) – presented here is the full version.

Thanks to DJ Roger Banks’ acetate and to Maxine Brown, we have the original Lorraine Chandler version of ‘Don’t Leave Me Baby’, the song she wrote with Jack Ashford which both Maxine and Ray Gant would cover, the latter a notable Dave Godin Deep Soul Treasure.

There are beautiful, newly discovered ballads from Billy Sha-Rae and Cecil Norman Jr but one sure to create a minor earthquake among Deep Soul fans is Eddie Parker’s 1976 updating of ‘Crying Clown’. Parker’s overlooked Jay Walking single ‘Can’t You See (What You’re Doing To Me)’ sounds great, while label-mates Ray Gant & the Arabian Knights bring on the social comment with ‘Air’ & ‘Don’t Save Your Money’ – both excellent Ashford songs from the 70s.

Talented arranger and writer George Rountree contributed to several Ashford and/or Chandler songs in the first half of the 70s. Their Don Gardener and Baby Washington 45 ‘Lay A Little Lovin’ On Me’ was issued, but Brenda Cook’s pretty ‘Alone Again’ debuts here.

Back in the 60s, with Pied Piper gone, Jack placed a sultry instrumental workout on the Sir-Rah label which also provided a home for Al Gardner’s ‘Watch Yourself’. The Four Sonics’ bittersweet and catchy ‘Easier Said Than Done’ was from this late 60s period.

Group harmony tracks are provided by the Perfections and Four Sonics Plus One, while Billy Sha-Rae’s ‘I’m Gone’ is the great soul stomper of the set.


Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. After You Give Your All - Sandra Richardson Listen
02. I Can Fly - The Magnificents Listen
03. Say That You Love Me Boy - Softouch Listen
04. Since I Lost My Baby - Perfections Listen
05. Let Me Take Care Of Your Heart - Jack Ashford Listen
06. How Long Has It Been Since You Had A Love Affair - Cecil Norman Jr
07. Crying Clown - Eddie Parker Listen
08. The Story Of My Life - Billy Sha-Rae Listen
09. Don't Leave Me Baby - Lorriaine Chandler Listen
10. Don't Let Me Down - Sandra Richardson
11. Don't Save Your Money - Ray Grant & The Arabian Nights
12. I'm Gone - Billy Sha-Rae
13. This Ain't Just Another Dance Song - Jack Ashford Listen
14. There Can Be A Better Way (Inst.) - The Sound Of New Detroit
15. Easier Said Than Done - Four Sonics Listen
16. I Need A True Love - Eddie Parker Listen
17. Watch Yourself - Al Gardner Listen
18. Air - Ray Grant & The Arabian Knights Listen
19. Lay A Little Lovin' On Me - Don Gardner & Baby Washington Listen
20. Can't See You (What You're Doing To Me) - Eddie Parker Listen
21. J.C.'s Grit Gitter - J.C. Heard
22. Alone Again - Brenda Cook Listen
23. Lost Without You - Four Sonics Plus One
24. I Found The One - Billy Sha-Rae Listen

Additional information

input date 15th August 2018

Jack Ashford – Just Productions Volume 2




release type