Efunk Detroit Vol. 1 – Various Artists – 12″ Vinyl


In stock


For our second foray into the House Of EFUNK we tap into the source, The Motor City, for a 5 track compilation of Detroit’s unsung heroes and up-and-comers. In true EFUNK fashion the music moves from soulful to funky, groovy to pumping.

On the A Side longtime P-Funk collaborator PiranhaHead (Mahogani, Moods & Grooves) brings in Abby B on vocals for the soulful, deep4life workout “Ebb & Flow”. Next up, two Detroit transplants living in LA, Visionquest’s Lee Curtiss and Steingold give us “Feed The Funk” a bassline driving, dancefloor bomb with a classic sample. Then the city’s most prolific producer of the moment Javontte (NDATL, Sisturm) turns out a bubbling remix of Soul Clap’s Lonely C 2018 standout single Hold Up.

The B Side kicks off with edit master Pontchartrain (Whiskey Disco, Soul Clap Records) continues his move into strong originals with “Changes They Come”, a funked up, synthed out groove featuring Ian Fink on Keys. Fink rounds everything out with a funky, jazz influenced Detroit groove that shows off the keyboard skills that have him playing with everyone from Scott Grooves to Shigeto to Andrés.


Track Listing


No. Track Preview
01. PiranhaHead feat. Abby B – Ebb & Flow Listen
02. Lee Curtiss & Steingold – Feed The Funk Listen
03. Lonely C - Hold Up (Javontte Remix 1) Listen


No. Track Preview
01. Pontchartrain ft. Ian Fink – Changes They Come Listen
02. Ian Fink – vaccin8r Listen

Additional information

input date 10th May 2019

Efunk Detroit Vol. 1




release type