Citrus Sun – Expansions And Visions – CD Album – LIMITED HAND SIGNED COPY – BACK IN STOCK NOW !!


In stock



“If you look at Incognito as being the flagship of my career, consider Citrus Sun as being the indulgent – and for fun only – speedboat that rides alongside her” That is Bluey explaining his love for Citrus Sun, who deliver their fourth album Expansions and Visions. “This band is our getaway, our live-for-the-moment statement”, he says. And for the second album running, the band did literally get away – to Krabi on southern Thailand’s West coast, where they enjoyed a life of beach and boat trips by day and writing and recording by night. The core of Citrus Sun is the Incognito rhythm section – Bluey, keyboard player Matt Cooper, bassist Francis Hylton, guitarist Francisco Sales and drummer Francesco Mendolia – who are joined by guest musicians and singers. A gritty reworking of the Ashford-Simpson classic “California Soul” features Noel McKoy, with background vocals from Jamiroquai’s Valerie Etienne and Hazel Fernandes. Valerie also takes the lead on a blistering version of Lonnie Liston Smith’s “Expansions”, described by Bluey as “a pivotal song in the soundtrack of our lives”. Legendary UK guitarist Jim Mullen returns on “Expansions”, “Stay You” (a Seventies-styled tribute to the late Leon Ware) and a very funky instrumental “Hard Boiled”. Featured on much of the album is the youngest addition to the band, 22-year-old Indonesian harmonica sensation Rega Dauna, who delivers a solo on the jazz funk tune “A Lust For Life” with a maturity which belies his age. Also showcased on that track are the band’s Portuguese guitarist Francisco Sales and Dominic Glover on trumpet. Bluey himself contributes vocals on several of the cuts, including the album closer “Thinking Of You”, a gorgeous soulful bossa duet with American singer Deborah Bond.


Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. Expansions feat. Valerie Etienne Listen
02. A Lust For Life Listen
03. California Soul feat. Noel McKoy Listen
04. Diamond In The Sun Listen
05. Stay You feat. Bluey Listen
06. Amando O Velho Mundo Listen
07. Hard Boiled Listen
08. Hey Now feat. Bluey Listen
09. Future Visions Listen
10. Back To Wonderland Listen
11. Thinking Of You feat. Deborah Bond & Bluey Listen

Additional information

input date 11th October 2020

Citrus Sun




release type