Chuck Jackson – Big New York Soul – Wand Records 1961-1966 (inc 8 Previously Unreleased Tracks)


In stock


Tracks – 1/7/11/16/17/19/22/24 – Previously Unreleased.

We released the best of Chuck Jackson’s Wand recordings on “Good Things” (CDKEND 935) in 1990. Since then Kent has issued all of Chuck’s eight Wand LPs on four CDs. A review of the tapes from our Wand trawl of the mid-80s, along with recent tape discoveries, means we can issue a final CD of previously unreleased tracks and rarities.

Of the eight previously unheard songs debuting here, the highlights are the perky opener ‘Things Just Ain’t Right’, a tremendous cover of the Curtis Mayfield-written ‘Need To Belong’, originally covered by Jerry Butler and ‘Anymore’, a duet with Dionne Warwick, a teaming never before heard.

We have also included ‘Little By Little’, a great uptempo dancer only previously released on the 1987 Kent LP “A Powerful Soul” which is long deleted and ‘The Silencer’, a secret agent-styled film theme tune which was only released on compilation CDs in the 90s. There is also a demo of ‘In Between Tears’, previously only available on a Kent LP.

There are two very good B-sides; ‘For All Time’ and ‘And That’s Saying A Lot’ which have never before appeared on CD. Some collectors may know ‘And That’s Saying A Lot’ from Christine Perfect’s cover on her first solo LP. Additionally ‘Big New York’ is included as it has only appeared on the “In The Naked City” CD, which is now deleted.

A recent flurry of Internet activity saw Chuck fans amazed that the very popular ‘Hand It Over’ was issued in two quite different vocal versions over two different Wand release numbers. We include the version that has eluded a CD release up until now. A later recording of ‘Forget About Me’, which was first featured on “Good Things”, is also included with a very different vocal and a small mistake corrected the initial attempt.

Although the rest of Chuck’s material was issued on the two-LPs-on-one CD series, this was mainly in stereo and we have obtained mono versions of such great numbers as ‘If I Didn’t Love You’, ‘I’ve Got To Be Strong’ and ‘This Broken Heart (That You Gave Me)’. ‘Another Day’ and ‘King Of The Mountain’ also get the mono treatment, and sit well with a third unissued Bob Crewe and the 4 Seasons-related track ‘Through My Tears’ and provide an interesting side-story.


Track Listing

No. Track Preview
01. Things Just Ain't Right Listen
02. Little By Little Listen
03. Hand It Over Listen
04. Big New York
05. King Of The Mountain
06. Another Day
07. Need To Belong Listen
08. For All Time Listen
09. If I Didn't Love You
10. The Same Old Story Listen
11. Why Some People Don't Like Me Listen
12. What You Gonna' Say Listen
13. I've Got To Be Strong Listen
14. The Silencer Listen
15. This Broken Heart (That You Gave Me) Listen
16. Forget About Me Listen
17. Meet Me Half Way
18. And That's Saying Alot
19. Through My Tears Listen
20. Getting Ready For The Heartbreak Listen
21. In Between Tears
22. All About You Listen
23. Anymore duet with Dionne Warwick Listen
24. Why, Why, Why Listen

Additional information

input date 3rd October 2017

Chuck Jackson




release type

Categories: , ,