Charles Bradley – Black Velvet – CD Album


In stock


Black Velvet is a celebration of Charles Bradley, lovingly assembled by his friends and family at Dunham/Daptone Records. Though chronologically the material spans Charles’ entire career, this is no anthology, greatest hits or other shallow rehashing of the songs that already made him famous. Rather, this album is a profound exploration through the less-travelled corners of the soulful universe that Charles and his longtime producer, co-writer and friend Tommy “TNT” Brenneck created in the studio together over their decade-long partnership. It features new songs recorded during the sessions from each of his three albums, heard here for the very first time in all their scorching glory: “Can’t Fight the Feeling,” “Fly Little Girl” and the heart-wrenching single “I Feel a Change”; hard core rarities like his funk-bomb duet with LaRose Jackson, “Luv Jones,” the psychedelic groover, “(I Hope You Find) The Good Life” and the ever-illusive alternate full band electric version of “Victim of Love”; sought-after covers of Nirvana’s “Stay Away,” Neal Young’s “Heart of Gold” and Rodriguez’s “Slip Away”; and the title track “Black Velvet,” a stirring Menahan Street Band instrumental to which Charles was never able to cut a vocal.


Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. Can't Fight The Feeling Listen
02. Luv Jones Listen
03. I Feel A Change Listen
04. Slip Away Listen
05. Black Velvet
06. Stay Away Listen
07. Heart Of Gold Listen
08. (I Hope You Find) The Good Life Listen
09. Fly Little Girl Listen
10. Victim Of Love (Electric Version) Listen

Additional information

input date 7th November 2018

Charles Bradley




release type

Categories: , ,