Can I Be A Witness – Stax Southern Groove – Various Artists – CD Album – IN STOCK NOW !!


Out of stock


A brand-new collection gathered from the Stax catalogue of southern-flavoured dancers, from soul to funk and in between.

“Can I Be A Witness: Stax Southern Groove” features 11 previously unreleased tracks from such illustrious names as the Soul Children, Little Milton, the Emotions, the Sweet Inspirations, the Nightingales and Frederick Knight, amongst others.

The other nine tracks from artists such as Eddie Floyd, R.B. Hudmon, the Rance Allen Group and Eric Mercury delve deep into the archive, bringing you B-sides, obscure album cuts, dancefloor favourites and originally unissued tracks.

The booklet is well illustrated and comes with an in-depth essay from compiler Dean Rudland.


Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. Bad Water - Little Milton
02. Can We Talk This Over - Eddie Floyd Listen
03. How Can I Be A Witness - RB Hudmon Listen
04. Love Is Taking Over - Eric Mercury Listen
05. Burning On Both Ends - The Nightingales Listen
06. Forever And A Day - Mel & Tim Listen
07. I Wanna Make Up (Before We Break Up) - Major Lance Listen
08. You Ain't Playing With No Toy - The Soul Children Listen
09. I Got To Be Myself - The Rance Allen Group Listen
10. Passing Thru/World Keeps Turning - Frederick Knight
11. Ain't Enough Hours - The Emotions Listen
12. Changes - Jeanne & The Darlings Listen
13. Slow Down - The Nightingales Listen
14. Soul Groove - Art Jerry Miller Listen
15. Don't Fight The Feeling - The Sweet Inspirations Listen
16. Three's A Crowd - The Temprees Listen
17. Helping Man - Jean Knight Listen
18. True Love Don't Grow On Trees (Demo) - Veda Brown Listen
19. The Natural You - Ollie & The Nightingales Listen
20. Leaning On Your Undying Love - Shack Listen

Additional information

input date 23rd September 2021

Can I Be A Witness – Stax Southern Groove




release type

Join the waitlist to be emailed when this product becomes available

Categories: , ,