Alexis Evans – I’ve Come A Long Way – CD Album


In stock


The enfant prodige of Soul Alexis Evans returns with a new album that makes Bordeaux the new French capital of deep soul.

Forget about great wines for a second, from Bordeaux rolls in Alexis Evans, the next big thing of the French deep soul scene. Following his acclaimed debut LP “Girl Bait” (2016) Record Kicks is proud to present “I’ve Come A Long Way”, the new installment of the Anglo/French artist that will hit the streets worldwide on March 08 2019. Recorded in Bordeaux, mixed in Sydney by Dojo Cuts’ and The Liberators’ head honcho Nate Goldentone and mastered in LA at Golden Mastering, with “I’ve Come A Long Way” Alexis Evans is ready to impress you with one of the most original and honest deep soul and rhythm and blues album that you’ll find around.

“I’ve Come a Long Way” might seem like an ambitious album for a 25 years old guy, but from the soulful opening track “She Took me back” to the last rock and roll storming cut “Rock’N’ Roll Healer” you’ll be immediately captured by Alexis’ incredible musicianship and songwriting. Imagine a soulful and much funkier version of Jon Spencer where the Meters, Otis Redding and Sly & The Family Stone are kings. “I spent a few months composing and arranging all these tracks with the idea of approaching the songs of The Impressions, Allen Toussaint or Bobby Womack” says Alexis “and with everyone in the right mood, we found our own sound and we recorded the album”.

Despite his relatively young age, the Bordeaux-based singer-songwriter-producer Alexis Evansis not a newcomer in the music scene. He discovered Afro-American music as a child and learnt to play guitar thanks to his father, an English musician. At the age of 17 he debuted with his first project “Jumping to the Westside”, with which he was awarded the “Cognac Blues Passion” prize and flew to the “International Blues Challenge” in Memphis, Tennessee, where he impressed the American audience even though he was still a teenager.Mr.Evanshas built a household name in the scene as the “enfant prodige of soul”, touring extensively his country with explosive live sets at RDV Erdre Nantes, Rhino Jazz St-Etienne, Lyon Ninkasi, Club Nubia Paris, Festivals Relâche Bordeaux, Jazz à Vienne as well as Festivals in England, Switzerland and Wales.

Fans of Daptone and Stax Records you better take note.


Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. She Took Me Back Listen
02. I Made a Deal with Myself Listen
03. Chocolate Seller
04. It's Not Wrong Listen
05. I've Come a Long Way Listen
06. It's All over Now Listen
07. But I Do Listen
08. Your Words Listen
09. How Can I Get Over Listen
10. Come Home with Me Listen
11. Rock'n'Roll Healer

Additional information

input date 19th February 2019

Alexis Evans




release type

Categories: , , ,