Afrodisia – Elephant Sunrise


In stock


The second album release on Cordial Recordings is a re-release of Afrodisia’s highly collectible album ‘Elephant Sunrise’ from 1980 on Comma. The album is a limited pressing of 500 units. Afrodisia were combination of US soldiers with local musicians from Worms, Germany that were formed in 1978 and recorded two albums during their years together with ‘Elephant Sunrise’ being the only one that was actually released. Cordial Recordings will be issuing the previously unreleased album in 2019. ‘Elephant Sunrise’ has become a revered album by collectors because of the high quality of songs featured on the album which cross from soul to funk to disco and jazz with great ease. The band’s leader Darnell Summers is originally from Detroit and is the brother of Headhunter Bill Summers who also features on the album as a player and songwriter. ‘Sugar Free’ is highly regarded by aficionados on the soul scene for it’s glowing summer sounds and is one of the two songs that Bill Summers co-wrote on the album. This is one album not to be missed.


Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. T.M.F.F. Listen
02. Elephant Sunrise Listen
03. Psychic Summers Listen
04. Could It Only Be Me Listen
05. Sugar Free Listen
06. Good Thang Listen
07. Goin' Down To The Disco Listen
08. Zugabe (Encore) Listen
09. A Fool No Longer (Bonus CD Track) Listen


No. Track Preview
01. Wild Turkey Listen

Additional information

input date 28th June 2018





release type

Categories: , ,