Garcia Walker & Durrell – Praying For Rain – CD Album – IN STOCK NOW – ONE OF THE YEARS BEST ALBUMS – DON’T MISS THIS !!


In stock


The album was never intended be a “lost and found” masterpiece. That’s just the way things turned out.

In the very beginning there was never even going to be an album. Ex-Drizabone producer and songwriter extraordinaire Vince Garcia had put himself in a self imposed musical exile, and instead of his beloved London was living in Yorkshire in with a hotel and restaurant business.A couple of brilliant Soul All-Dayers at Vince’s venue got his mojo back, and a chance meeting with former musical colleague Mark Walker – the bass, drums and keyboards maestro – started the ball rolling. Mark in turn told Vince about an American Soul singer called Vince Durrell that he had come across busking in Leeds!

The trio had come together. Vince Garcia put together an impromptu studio inside his house and the unlikely location of South Cave near Hull became the HQ to create magical Soul music. The inspiring “Bluewater” confirmed that Vince had lost none of his songwriting ooomph and was followed by a cover of Beloyd’s Much loved Modern Soul classic “Get Into Your Life which sounded like it could have been written for Vince Durrell’s angst filled vocals.The tracks led to Vince deciding he needed to get back to his London roots and he set up a “proper” studio in West Hampstead where work began on what became this epic “Praying For Rain” albumVince reached out to his network of players and a “who’s who” of London’s finest Soul crew were recruited to the cause, including ace recording engineer Andy Parker, Gil Gang and Shaun Escoffrey. Encouraged Vince came out with an unbelievable series of songs, not so much Brit Soul but out of this World,

Tapes leaked from the studio made their way onto various Soul radio shows to an euphoric response,
“Praying For Rain” was placed on a compilation album to create demand, the word got out that something special was on the way.


No one seems to be able to explain why the album never got released. Due to a set of circumstances it just didn’t.

A contemporary classic album brimming with timeless Soul songs and pristine playing and production was stuck in the vaults.

Luckily Soul Intention persevered and what was for a while a “Lost” gem has well and truly been “Found”.

Like we say, it’s a masterpiece ….


Track Listing

Disc 1

No. Track Preview
01. Praying For Rain Listen
02. Bluewater Listen
03. Darlin' Listen
04. Don't Break My Heart Listen
05. Stars Listen
06. Gotta Have You Listen
07. Get Into Your Life Listen
08. My Prayer Listen
09. Maybe Next Time Listen
10. Now That You're Gone Listen

Additional information

input date 8th August 2021

Garcia Walker & Durrell




release type

Categories: ,